How Do I Lobby The Councillors Making The Decision?

Ultimately it is the Councillors on the planning committee at Teignbridge District Council that make the decision on whether to permit or refuse a development. They are not trained planners and do not have as much of a grasp of planning as the full-time officers making the recommendation. But they have the power to disregard the officer’s recommendation, provided they have sound reasons for doing so.

It is therefore vital that you get your message across to the Councillors on the planning committee. The planners will only listen to technical arguments directly related to planning but Councillors are elected representatives that are more concerned about doing what local people want. A powerful lobbying campaign can be very effective.

It used to be the case that local councillors could not take any action that implied how they might vote on a planning application before it was discussed by the local planning committee. Changes made by the Localism Act however have changed this, so local councillors should be able to get more involved with campaigns on local planning applications.

Whether you’re supporting or opposing a planning application, give councillors the reasons for this. You might also want to suggest conditions that should be attached to any planning permission granted.

Your goal is not only to convince the councillors that you have a case in planning terms, but to demonstrate the support your case has in the local community. Planning is not a science and councillors may judge the issues differently from planning officers.

As a general rule, the only safe way of ‘lobbying’ councillors is to write an identical letter to all members of the planning committee (listed below), and make it clear in the text of the letter that this is a letter which is being written to all the members.

You cannot be sure that the councillors will actually read the letter or take any notice of it, but you will at least have communicated your views direct to councillors, rather than having them ‘filtered’ or summarised by officers in their committee report.

Planning Committee Members – Teignbridge District Council

Dennis SmithDennis Smith
Chairman – TDC Planning Committee
District Councillor for Ambrook Ward
Parishes: Abbotskerswell, Broadhempston, Ogwell, Denbury & Torbryan
Woodland
Party: Conservative

Address:
Karinya
9 Crokers Way
Ipplepen
Newton Abbot
TQ12 5QZ

Tel: 01803 812653

Email: dennis.smith@teignbridge.gov.uk

Avril KerswellAvril Kerswell
Vice-chairman – TDC Planning Committee
District Councillor for Bovey Ward
Parishes: Bovey Tracey, Lustleigh
Party: Conservative

Address:
Churchlea
37 Coombe Close
Bovey Tracey
TQ13 9ER

Tel: 01626 832923

Email: avril.kerswell@teignbridge.gov.uk

Beryl AustinBeryl Austen
District Councillor for Kingsteignton East Ward
Parishes: Kingsteignton East, Ideford
Party: Independent

Address:
Rose Lodge
Vicarage Hill
Kingsteignton
Newton Abbot
TQ12 3BA

Tel: 01626 352532

Email: beryl.austen@teignbridge.gov.uk

Geoff BladonGeoff Bladon
District Councillor for Teignmouth Central Ward
Parishes: Teignmouth Central
Party: Conservative

Address:
13 Maudlin Drive
Teignmouth
TQ14 8RY

Tel: 01626 778482 | 07889 825399

Email: geoff.bladon@teignbridge.gov.uk

Jackie BrodieJackie Brodie
District Councillor for Newton Abbot Bushell Ward
Parishes: Newton Abbot Bushell
Party: Liberal Democrat

Address:
6 Moorlands Close
Newton Abbot
TQ12 4ET

Tel: 01626 334576

Email: jackie.brodie@teignbridge.gov.uk

Philip BullivantPhilip Bullivant
District Councillor for Newton Abbot Bradley Ward
Parishes: Newton Abbot Bradley Ward
Party: Conservative

Address:
6 Gaze Hill
Highweek
Newton Abbot
TQ12 1QL

Tel: N/A

Email: philip.bullivant@teignbridge.gov.uk

Chris ClaranceChris Clarance
District Councillor for Shaldon and Stokeinteignhead Ward
Parishes: Shaldon & Stokeinteignhead
Party: Conservative

Address:
5A Marine Parade
Shaldon
Teignmouth
TQ14 0DP

Tel: 01626 873792

Email: chris.clarance@teignbridge.gov.uk

Mary ColcloughMary Colclough
District Councillor for Ambrook Ward
Parishes: Abbotskerswell, Broadhempston, Ogwell, Denbury & Torbryan, Woodland
Party: Independent

Address:
1 Borthay Orchard
Ford Road
Abbotskerswell
Newton Abbot
TQ12 5QD

Tel: 01626 367176

Email: mary.colclough@teignbridge.gov.uk

Charlie DennisCharlie Dennis
District Councillor for Ashburton & Buckfastleigh Ward
Parishes: Ashburton & Buckfastleigh
Party: Conservative

Address:
52 Emmetts Park
Ashburton
Devon
TQ13 7DB

Tel: 01364 653138 | 07779 728690

Email: charlie.dennis@teignbridge.gov.uk

Amanda FordAmanda Ford
District Councillor for Teign Valley Ward
Parishes: Ashton, Bridford, Christow, Doddiscombsleigh, Dunsford & Trusham
Party: Conservative

Address:
Tucketts
Trusham
Newton Abbot
TQ13 0NR

Tel: 01626 852020

Email: amanda.ford@teignbridge.gov.uk

Vince FuscoVince Fusco
District Councillor for Teignmouth East Ward
Parishes: Teignmouth East
Party: Conservative

Address:
Medina Flats
Flat 1
1 The Triangle
Teignmouth
TQ14 8AU

Tel: 01626 772662

Email: vince.fusco@teignbridge.gov.uk

Patricia Johnson-KingPatricia Johnson-King
District Councillor for Chudleigh Ward
Parishes: Chudleigh & Hennock
Party: Conservative

Address:
Oakfield Coach House
Exeter Road
Chudleigh
TQ13 0DD

Tel: 01626 859033 | 07967 132230

Email: patricia.johnson-king@teignbridge.gov.uk

Ann JonesAnn Jones
District Councillor for Newton Abbot College Ward
Parishes: Newton Abbot College
Party: Liberal Democrat

Address:
29 Orleigh Avenue
Newton Abbot
TQ12 2TP

Tel: 01626 332122 | 07951 591143

Email: ann.jones@teignbridge.gov.uk

Jaqui OrmeJacqui Orme
District Councillor for Teignmouth Central Ward
Parishes: Teignmouth Central
Party: Conservative

Address:
40 Dunning Walk
Teignmouth
TQ14 9LN

Tel: 01626 770342

Email: jacqui.orme@teignbridge.gov.uk

Colin ParkerColin Parker
District Councillor for Newton Abbot Buckland & Milber Ward
Parishes: Newton Abbot Buckland & Milber
Party: Liberal Democrat

Address:
22 Twickenham Road
Milber
Newton Abbot
TQ12 4JE

Tel: 01626 363294

Email: colin.parker@teignbridge.gov.uk

Mike PilkingtonMike Pilkington
District Councillor for Newton Abbot College
Parishes: Newton Abbot College
Party: Liberal Democrat

Address:
3 Beaumont Lodge
16 Forde Park
Newton Abbot
TQ12 1DD

Tel: 01626 353756

Email: mike.pilkington@teignbridge.gov.uk

Graham PriceGraham Price
District Councillor for Dawlish Central & North East Ward
Parishes: Dawlish Central & North East
Party: Conservative

Address:
Mewstone
The Mews
Dawlish
EX7 9DW

Tel: 07970 892093

Email: graham.price@teignbridge.gov.uk

Rosalind ProwseRosalind Prowse
District Councillor for Dawlish South West Ward
Parishes: Dawlish South West
Party: Conservative

Address:
4 Nash Gardens
Dawlish
EX7 9RR

Tel: 01626 866621

Email: rosalind.prowse@teignbridge.gov.uk

Dave RollasonDave Rollason
District Councillor for Kingsteignton West Ward
Parishes: Kingsteignton West, Teigngrace
Party: Liberal Democrat

Address:
7 Winston Close
Kingsteignton
TQ12 3BZ

Tel: 07855 332710

Email: dave.rollason@teignbridge.gov.uk

Mike WaltersMike Walters
District Councillor for Kingsteignton East Ward
Parishes: Kingsteignton East, Ideford
Party: Conservative

Address:
Blindwell House
29 Vicarage Hill
Kingsteignton
Newton Abbot
TQ12 3BA

Tel: 01626 360826

Email: mike.walters@teignbridge.gov.uk

Reg WinsorReg Winsor
District Councillor for Newton Abbot Buckland & Milber
Parishes: Newton Abbot Buckland & Milber
Party: Conservative

Address:
40 Haytor Drive
Newton Abbot
TQ12 4DU

Tel: 07949 942573

Email: reg.winsor@teignbridge.gov.uk

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *